Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Texas Lutheran opens SCAC play with three-set win over Johnson & Wales

Peyton Sulak (photo by Dustin Wyatt)
Peyton Sulak (photo by Dustin Wyatt)
DENVER -- The Texas Lutheran Bulldogs began their 2019 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference schedule Friday with a three-set victory over Johnson & Wales - Denver.
 
At the SCAC Cross-Divisional No. 1, hosted by Johnson & Wales, TLU won 25-13, 25-15, 26-24 and improved to 8-5 overall and to 1-0 in the SCAC.
 
The Bulldogs have won four in a row.
 
The Wildcats dropped to 2-7 overall and to 0-1 in the SCAC.
 
Sophomore middle blocker Peyton Sulak led TLU with seven kills and no errors on 11 attempts. She hit .636 and added four block assists.
 
Paige Day collected six kills, and Madison Weisinger contributed five kills with a .429 hitting percentage.
 
TLU hit .333 for the match and held JWU to .049.
 
Senior setter Jaci Chambers delivered 29 assists and had 10 digs. Adrienne Galaviz served a pair of aces.
 
TLU continues play at the cross-divisional tournament with matches Saturday against Trinity (10 a.m. MDT/11 a.m. CDT) and Austin College (4 p.m. MDT/5 p.m. CDT).